What’s been up while the blog’s been boring!

My computer’s screen died, so I had to send it off to Apple and I’ve finally got it back! While I was laptop-less I did some pretty cool stuff. First, I went to some of the National Cherry Blossom Festival events. The National Cherry Blossom Festival runs for two weeks in DC, and during that time the Tidal Basin Cherry Blossoms are at their peak bloom. There are a bunch of fun events to go to – concerts, exhibits, a parade. The first event I went to was the fireworks display on the Southeast Waterfront. There were a bunch of people there dancing to music and enjoying the good weather. I took a bunch of pictures of the fireworks, and I think they turned out pretty good!

Next I went to visit the Tidal Basin to see the famous cherry blossoms in person. It was a warm, sunny day, and about a billion people had the same idea as me. The blossoms were pretty, but I missed the peak bloom by about three days.

The final event I participated in was the Cherry Blossom Ten-Miler. I didn’t run it, but I volunteered at the merch table during the expo. Volunteers get a guaranteed entry for the next year’s race, which is great because the race is so popular that they need to use a lottery selection process. The expo was pretty exciting. I thought my volunteer slot started at six, so I got up very very early and drove downtown. Once I got there I found out my slot didn’t start until nine. So I had three hours to kill, and I ended up walking in to help out about forty-five minutes early. Helping out was fun. I got a sweet volunteer t-shirt out of the deal, so it was a total win!

The Ten-Miler Expo

Check out my Flickr page to see a ton more photos of cherry blossoms, fireworks, monuments, Great Falls MD, and a lot of flowers from around DC.

One Response

  1. Really cool fireworks picture, I thought it was a lightening strike at first! Made me think of when we visited Oak Ridge and the kids did that machine that made their hair stick straight out…Cool.

Leave a Reply

