The Zoo! (Picture heavy, of course – animals!)

Zoo Entrance

Sunday afternoon I went to the National Zoo. Did you know it’s run by the Smithsonian Institution? I was surprised to learn that. They were set up for a Halloween event for their affiliated group, the Friends of the National Zoo. There were skeletons, and pumpkin people all over the place.

Pumpkin people in yukatas outside the entrance to the Asia Trail

Pumpkin people in yukatas outside the entrance to the Asia Trail

First up was the sloth bear, who was really interested in the people watching her. She was right up next to the glass! It was pretty cool.

Sloth bear faceI also saw an adorable red panda! She was also walking back and forth next to the glass. I think maybe it was her feeding time, and she wanted us to feed her.

Red PandaI saw two of Przewalski’s horses (I don’t know if one of them was the one that gave birth earlier this year. I didn’t see any baby horses. :()

Przewalski's HorseI got creeped out by this Prevost’s Squirrel:

Seriously, it all of a sudden snapped its head around to glare at me. Creepy.

Seriously, it all of a sudden snapped its head around to glare at me. Creepy.

I spotted a Golden-headed Lion Tamarind. Can you?

Golden-headed Lion Tamarind

And this Black-Tailed Prairie Dog made me homesick.

Seriously. Look at that belly. Who does that remind you of?

Seriously. Look at that belly. Who does that remind you of?

I spotted some kind of leopard (yay, punny!)

CatAnd then…PANDAS!

This panda was sleepy.

This panda was sleepy.

This panda was hungry.

This panda was hungry.

And this sleepy panda was being watched by a giraffe!

And this sleepy panda was being watched by a giraffe!

I saw my personal favorite – elephants!

ElephantAnd then I moseyed down to the Kids’ Farm, because I’m a kid at heart. And, to get a specific set of pictures for my mom. These ones!

Black and white cow

She was waiting very patiently to come into her stall for the night.

She was waiting very patiently to come into her stall for the night.

The zoo was very pretty. Just look at the autumn colors on this tree!

Pretty treesAnd check out this close-up of the brilliant yellow flowers from the zoo entrance:

Flowers

And these lanterns that hung overhead at the entrance to the Asia Trail:

LanternsI loved the zoo.

Here are links to videos I’ve uploaded of some of the animals I saw:

Red Panda Pacing Back and Forth

Hungry Panda Bear

Goofy Prairie Dogs

Mooing Cow

One Response

  1. Love the pics!

Leave a Reply

