Brunch at Ruby Tuesday’s

My friend Michelle met me for brunch yesterday at Ruby Tuesday’s. I had a coupon for a buy-one-get-one-free four-course brunch meal, which she agreed to help me take advantage of. It would have been weird to eat both brunches myself, you know.

It was my first time to visit Columbia Heights since it became home to DC USA and Target, and it was pretty cool. Here’s a picture of the Columbia Heights Plaza:

CIMG6022

Those are solar panels at the top, which power the plaza’s lights, as well as…

CIMG6023… this fountain! Pretty nice, huh? Go check out Prince of Petworth’s post on the plaza. He has some great pictures of the spot seven years ago. It’s an amazing difference! Although I have to admit, the traffic is terrible now, and it was probably a lot better then. But traffic will get better once all the construction is finally completed, and there’s good reasons to go there now that weren’t there then, so there! (<- pretty sweet sentence, right?)

But anyway, back to Ruby Tuesday’s. I got there (late) and Michelle had already gotten a table (cause I was so late). Today is Michelle’s birthday! Hooray! She’s 24, just like me! Here’s Michelle doing a birthday pose:

Note the 24 in fingers. Very clever.

Note the 24 in fingers. Very clever.

We had a very friendly waiter, who wouldn’t sing to Michelle or give her free cake. Booo! He did give us some surprisingly yummy biscuits, though, so we decided to call off the feud we’d been planned to start.

Said biscuits

Said biscuits

Michelle's going for the honey butter, which really made the biscuits.

Michelle's going for the honey butter, which really made the biscuits.

Next came a yogurt berry parfait for each of us. Though I don’t like yogurt, so Michelle had mine, too. It was my birthday present to her. I know, I’m too generous!

One of them has bunny ears.

I let her have mine even after I found out it came with bunny ears - what a friend I am!

Next up – the main courses. Michelle had some kind of breakfast quesadilla or something. It looked really good!

She didn't eat very much of it. Too much yogurt, probably.

She didn't eat very much of it. Too much yogurt, probably.

I had the mini-Benedict trio, which consisted of steak eggs benedict, chicken eggs benedict, and crab eggs benedict. I found the sauce a little bit salty and greasy although the steak was yummy, and the crab cake had a good proportion of crab to cake.

The home fries were average, but the benedicts were pretty okay.

The home fries were average, but the benedicts were pretty okay.

And finally, we each got two warm chocolate chip cookies. A delightful finish to a good meal!

Not a cheap meal, though. It still was $10 bucks apiece, even with the coupon!

Not a cheap meal, though. It still was $10 bucks apiece, even with the coupon!

It was a fun experience. I am a fan of the multi-course meal, I have to admit. That’s why I love going to O’Charleys, Olive Garden, and Red Lobster. You get bread, then salad, then your main course. It was even better when TGI Friday’s was doing it’s three-course menu, where you got an appetizer, entree, and dessert all for $13. Good deal, right? This was $14 for my meal (since I got the benedict trio), and I think $13 for Michelle’s. Plus we both got drinks, cause drinking drinks is pretty much my favorite thing about going to restaurants. Endless refills of Dr. Pepper/Mr. Pibb! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

