Colonel Brooks’ Tavern

Monday my friend Michelle met me for lunch at a local restaurant, Colonel Brooks’ Tavern. I walk by the restaurant every time I go to the Metro, and so I was excited to find out whether it was any good.

The Tavern, as viewed from Google's truck

The Tavern, as viewed from Google's truck

The interior is done in your basic tavern style, with a lot of dark wood and an old feel. The server was friendly, and the restaurant was nicely busy – a good enough number of people eating to make you feel good about eating there, but not so crowded that it’s loud and uncomfortable.

Michelle ordered the quesadilla. She told me that the tortilla was nice and crisp without being dry, and the cheese and chicken was really tasty. She had one piece of chicken that was fatty, which was gross, but except for that it was a thumbs up!

Michelle's quesadilla

Michelle's quesadilla

Michelle's fingers "eating" the cheese

Michelle's fingers "eating" the cheese

I ordered the meatloaf platter, because I love meatloaf. The meatloaf was served on toast for some reason I don’t understand, and it came with mashed potatoes and gravy and green beans. I was a little disappointed. The meatloaf and mashed potatoes were very mediocre, on the level of most meat-and-3’s I’ve been to. The gravy was good though, but it wasn’t enough to make the dish anything more than passable. I think next time I’ll try the fish and chips, or the french dip.

The disappointing meatloaf. I can't review the green beans because I didn't eat them, as I hate them.

The disappointing meatloaf. I can't review the green beans because I didn't eat them, as I hate them.

I’ll probably go back to the Tavern, since it’s so convenient and it’s a real place, with booths and bathrooms and everything! Plus, the lemonade I had tasted homemade, and it was great!

One Response

  1. Very nice photos of the food, the outside looks charming. Just wondering who Colonel Brooks was… Glad you both had a good time.

Leave a Reply

