Shooting on Edgewood Dr

Well, I found out what happened last night in my neighborhood. I was coming home from AU and noticed several police cars heading the way I was going. When I went to turn on to Edgewood Dr (from which I turn on to my street), it was blocked off with crime scene tape and there were a bunch of police cars parked, with more arriving every minute. There was also a helicopter circling the area with a spotlight. I figured someone had been shot, and that the shooter(s) had fled and the helicopter was trying to find them.

Turns out, I was right. As Fox DC reports, two masked gunmen shot at some security guards at the aparment complex on Edgewood.  They missed the guards, but they shot a 17-year-old girl in the head. She was taken to the hospital in critical condition, and the suspects got away.

The fact that it happened so close to me makes me a little uncomfortable. Along with the fact that it happened at 8:20, which is about when I would have been driving by if I hadn’t gotten dinner after class. And the fact the the girl was just a bystander makes me angry. I hope she makes it.

One Response

  1. You continue to be careful, so glad you arrived later. Love you.

Leave a Reply

