Home!

Charlie enjoys some yummy hay

Charlie enjoys some yummy hay

I’m home in TN right now! Hooray! I drove back on Friday in my newly-fixed car (details on that to come in a later post), and I’ve been enjoying family and piggy time since. I’ll head back to DC on Wednesday, just in time to rest up for Econ Thursday night.

Last Thursday was my birthday, and Saturday was Daniel’s 18th birthday, so it was a good time to come home for a visit. We had a family party at Las Cebollas (our favorite Mexican restaurant) Saturday night, and Daniel had a party with his church friends Sunday afternoon.

I was very conflicted about having a party at Las Cebollas. On the one hand, I love the food. Their fajita quesadilla is killer! Literally, if you ate the whole thing it would kill you with volume and deliciousness! And it’s a relaxed place, where we know some of the staff and can feel okay about being loud and taking up a lot of space.

On the other hand, there’s the birthday ceremony. I don’t want to get too specific, but it involves public humiliation, sombreros and whipped cream being shoved up your nose and in your face. Unpleasant, to put it mildly.

Covert shot of Daniel's humiliation - note the whipped-cream-face.

Covert shot of Daniel's humiliation - note the whipped-cream-face.

But it wasn’t my decision, so I sucked it up for the sake of family fun. And soon, it will be someone else’s turn to be laughed and pointed at. And isn’t that what family’s all about?

Leave a Reply

