AU Negotiation Project

I’m part of a club! I’m a joiner!

Wednesday I went to a general information meeting about the American University Negotiation Project. It’s a project that started from a negotiation class. Some of the students wanted to take what they learned to the campus as a whole, and to provide a forum for practicing negotiation skills. Most of the founders were/are members of the International Peace and Conflict Resolution program at SIS.

The AUNP holds several events each semester. Some of them are informational, round-table style events, and others are simulations, where the attendees actually role-play negotiations.

At our meeting, they asked if anyone would like to join the club and help with the planning of the events, and I volunteered. I’m going to be a Budget officer! I told them that I’d need plenty of guidance, since I’m not a financial whiz by any means! The president of the club handled the finances last year, so she’s going to let me know what I need to do. I’ll be helping track the finances of the club and wrangle the food for the events. I think it’s going to be fun!

Plus, it’ll look good on my resume. Having event planning/food procurement experience will be a definite plus. And getting involved with something on campus will be good for my social life, too!

2 Responses

  1. There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

    • Lol! You did a search on the Negotiation Project? And people will agree with what? Lol your spam! 🙂

Leave a Reply

