DC Living

Well, I did it – I moved to DC! I started grad school at American University, and I had my first class last Thursday. It’s an economics class, and it seems like it may be interesting. I haven’t had very good luck with economics in the past, but this is the first econ class that I’ve had that hasn’t been online, so I’m hopeful.

I’ve gotten settled in at Centro Maria (you’re welcome for that link, btw – just try and find it on google. Go on, try, I dare you!), which is where I’ll be staying indefinitely. It’s like a dorm, but it’s not officially affiliated with any university. The only requirements for admittance are that you be a woman aged 18-29. It’s cheap (only $165 a week!), breakfast and dinner Mon-Fri are included (with breakfast on Sat and brunch on Sun as well), and the rooms are a pretty good size. It’s been pretty nice so far. I have the privacy of a single room, but I also have other young women around me and opportunities to meet them and chat with them. There are only two problems so far. First, there’s no internet in the rooms! The only internet access is in one conference room on the first floor, and in the library on the second. Secondly, on the day I moved in a pipe burst, which for some reason necessitated turning off the air conditioning for at least a week. šŸ˜¦ So I’ve been using the skills I learned living in Elliot with no a/c in college, and staying almost-reasonably cool. And also spending most of each day on the AU campus (a/c and free wifi – win!).

I’ll post pics of my room later – it’s looking pretty cute, and I’m happy with the arrangement I have right now. Feels homey and comfortable, both of which are key in a new place! šŸ™‚

4 Responses

  1. I love the view out your window, it’s a lovely neighborhood. I can’t wait to see it in person! You make me and Dad proud. Love you. Mom

  2. Aww, thanks Mom!

  3. Dear Lauren
    Is that your guinea pig? And is that a real hamster or a stuffed one or a guinea pig baby?

  4. Hey! Yeah, those are my two guinea pigs, Charlie (black and white) and Lola (orange and black). The two tiny ones are Ty Beanie Babies from McDonald’s happy meals, getting ready to enjoy some yummy lettuce.

Leave a Reply

